If I print 1000 books, all 1000 books are mine. If I sell one book, I have 999 left.

If I print 1000 books, all 1000 books are mine.

If I sell one book, I have 999 left. The 1 book i sold i exchanged my right to control it for a sum of money.

Now this one book that I no longer control, as soon as I’ve sold it, it competes against my 999. The customer I sold it to may decide to re-sell it, or possibly even give it away to friends, family or community for free. That is why your customers ARE your competitors.

But if that customer decides to copy his book so now he has 2 books, either by hand, or using the 21st century copying machines we call ‘computers’, do we say that the 2nd book is not his property?

No his 2nd book is still his property. It is not my property in the sense that he may use sufficient force to thwart my attempts to steal his 2nd book. Be it using knives or guns. He is morally justified to do so.

This second book that is his book, he is free to re-sell it, or even give it away to friends, family or community for free.

On the other hand, copyright is the author’s attempt to steal part-control over that 2nd book using knives and guns.

Modified comment from:

http://torrentfreak.com/why-do-copyright-monopolists-think-they-can-just-take-somebody-elses-work-130203/

