Your holding of a copyright over a certain work isn’t about money at all. It is about control.

“Your holding of a copyright over a certain work isn’t about money at all. It is about control. You want to control my use of what you have claimed to be your work. You want to control who I show it to, if anyone. You want to control my use of the expressions or ideas for the purposes of analysis or criticism. (in otherwords) You want to force me… to ensure that I do not quote your words out of context. When I copy your work without authorization, you have lost all of this.
But where we disagree is whether you had any of this in the first place. And where I deeply disagree is in your assertion that it is somehow unethical (much less something that should be a criminal offense) for me to disrupt your control over me. Quite the contrary: I allege that it is inherently dishonest, unethical, and should be illegal, for you to assert that you can control me in any of these ways.”

  • Stephen Downes
