I don’t expect people to write for me for free.

“Readers don’t expect you to work for free, they expect to be free to share and build upon the work you have given or sold to them, just as people expect to be free to share and build upon Shakespeare’s work.

I expect to be free to share and build upon Stephan Kinsella’s blog posts. I’d also expect to be free to share and build upon any articles I might pay him to write for me. I certainly don’t expect him to write for me for free. No doubt if enough of us club together, we could share in commissioning Stephan to write something erudite for us, e.g. “Intellectual Work in a Free Market”? Naturally, we’d expect to be free to print and share or sell copies of this ad infinitum, whether hardback or e-book – without having to pay Stephan a penny.

This is the difference between paying someone to write and enjoying one’s natural right to copy a book one has purchased – a natural right annulled by Queen Anne in 1709. In 1708 people were free to make copies of an author’s published works. In 1710 they weren’t.

Abolishing copyright means restoring our cultural liberty and a free market in intellectual work. It doesn’t mean writers cannot be paid to write.”

  • Crosbie Fitch

http://c4sif.org/2011/11/patent-vs-copyright-which-is-worse/#comment-5597

